Posting #12

Hello, everyone!

 

I think that one thing we can all agree on is that the internet has given boundless opportunities to parents – particularly mothers and their young children. I say this about this particular group of internet users because of websites like http://www.AbcMouse.com.   Trust me, this site is amazing! It is the definition of using technology to learn. This site is geared towards giving babies and toddlers a great foundation in learning very similar to pre-school. They have everything on their site from the traditional ABCs, to 123s, to colors, numbers, months, and so on. The site even has specified subjects like science and social studies for you to teach your child from.

For me in particular, it is very hard to even think about putting my kids into daycare full time. I have a 3-year-old, a 15-month old toddler, and in a few days, I will have a newborn. Looking at some of the horror stories I’ve seen in the news, daycare is just not the way to go for me. Although I know some of these places may give my babies an opportunity to get an early feel for an educational setting, I just don’t think I’d be able to relax all day worrying about their well-being. Once when I was about to start working again full-time, before I got pregnant this last time, I did stop by a daycare to check out the facility and the whole daycare thing. I was not impressed by the place as it reeked of cleaning chemicals really bad as soon as I walked in. The place was not very neat, and they quoted me a price $292 per week (not including my newborn) for care. I decided then that AbcMouse.com would continue to be the basis for the start to my kids’ education.

There is a $7 per month fee for AbcMouse.com if you want all the site has to offer. I really don’t mind paying it, though, because it is so helpful when it comes to my children. My babies respond to it perfectly! I do think I would homeschool them for their entire education – if they’d let me. Believe it or not my three-year-old is already begging to ride the school bus.

Check out www.AbcMouse.com! It’s a great site!

 

-Crystal Hernandez

 

Leave a Reply

